Book review: TTMIK Level 2

The reason why I start with level 2 rather than the level 1 book is because I haven’t purchased the level 1 book.

This is what it looks like

20121216-113407.jpg

If you pre-order the books, you get signatures and a little token such as a post card 🙂

20121216-113452.jpg

Quick facts
No. of pages: 180 incl. answer key
Weight: 406g = 14.3 oz
Media included: book and 1 CD
Price: 13,000 won, excl. shipping

The first thing you notice when you pick up the book is how light it is. Taking this with you to study while commuting or in a coffee break is not going to cost you a physiotherapy appointment. It weighs less than the bottle of water I bring with me to lectures!

How the book is structured
Each lesson is structured the way we know it from the website, but it still doesn’t look entirely the same as the free pdf files:

1. Grammar intro
First you are introduced to the grammar point of the lesson you’re going to study. All of this is written in black font.

20121216-113534.jpg

2. Sample sentences
Then you can go through a bunch of sample sentences to see how it works in real sentences. All of this is written in an orange font. Beneath the orange font you find a very small blue font with the romanised pronunciation of what’s written in orange 한글. If you don’t need the romanisation or want to read the 한글 before double-checking your pronunciation, it is small enough that you can ignore it. If you still need romanisation, it is there to help you.

20121216-113616.jpg

3. Dialogue and exercises
Again, 한글 is written in orange, and the pronunciation in light blue underneath it. Further down the page you find a translation of the dialogue written in blue. A little microphone icon will direct you to the right track on your CD.
At the end of each chapter you find exercises so you can practice what you have just learned. You can check your answers in the answer key provided at the end of the book.

20121216-113655.jpg

Additional material not found in the TTMIK pdf files
The TTMIK team has spiced up the book version with some informative blog posts about Korea, and even a recipe for 김치 볶음밥 (kimchi fried rice)!

How do I get my CD out of the “pocket”?
This is a question I have seen several times online, and I don’t think there is any other way than using sharp scissors. However, I have tried to do it in a way that would allow me to put the CD back inside the pocket afterwards.

When you get the book, the CD is placed fairly centrally in the pocket, but it is possible to gently push it to one side of the pocket. That way you have a bit more space to maneuver your scissors so you don’t risk damaging the CD in the process.

20121216-113845.jpg

The front of the pocket is made of plastic and the back is made of some tissue-like material that I thought can be cut more easily. Initially I found it a bit difficult to make a clean cut.
I decided to cut the side closest to the spine of the book because then the CD doesn’t fall out when I put it back in. I figured that if you cut the side facing the edge of the book, the CD risks falling out once you lift the book off a table or put it in a bag.

This is what it looks like when you cut the spine-side. I have angled the book so you can see the cut more clearly, but it closes nicely when you close the book.

20121216-113926.jpg

More material from the publisher
The book is published by Hangul Park and the backflap of the book contains a few “advertisements” for other books that have been published via their publishing house. When I’m a bit further in my Korean studies I would love to get the books with Korean idioms and proverbs.

So that’s an overview of this sleek little package also known as TTMIK Level 2.
I hope you find all of the information you need.
If you have any questions or comments, fire away in the comments section below 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book review: TTMIK Level 2

    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Actually I finished the level 3 book, but I haven’t worked through level 2 from cover to cover. I use it to look up the oddities once in a while 🙂
      I like that there are exercises for each lesson and the book is light. The way I worked with the third book was to listen to the regular podcasts while e.g. walking to the train station and once on the train I would run through the text for the lesson and do the exercises. However, I might not do exercises for the exact same podcasts that I was listening to on the way to the train – mostly those from the day before – to see if the grammar stuck.
      Actually I didn’t use the CD provided with the book that much because it probably makes more sense if you are sitting with the book infront of you. It’s basically just the words used in the chapter and the dialogues, but I don’t gain so much from that format while doing something else at the same time (such as walking around or doing chores). For people who sit with the book for a study session it will be much quicker to listen to the CD tracks than listening through the individual podcasts, though ^^

      Reply

Leave a Reply

