Expressing purpose: “to” in English ~ -기 위해

Yesterday I made a mistake in my language exchange from which I learned a new grammar pattern.

Maybe it’s easier if I just show you the mistake I made:

The context was that my brother’s birthday is on the 31st of December and the particular sentence I wanted to say was:
To distinguish between the birthday and New Year, we eat a “birthday brunch” in the morning and have a New Year dinner in the evening.”

What I initially wrote to express this (please bear with my other mistakes):
생일와 새해를 구별하는 것을 아침에서는 “생일 아점”을 먹어고 저녁에서는 새해 저녁 식사를 해요

The correct sentence:
생일과 새해를 구별하기 위해 아침에는 “생일 아점”을 먹고 저녁에는 새해 저녁 식사를 해요.

More details
The conjugated form of 위하 is an attachment to the nominal form (-기) and it orinigates from a hanja character meaning “serve, to devote oneself”. The resulting combination means “in order to”/”for the sake of” or simply “for”.

2 thoughts on “Expressing purpose: “to” in English ~ -기 위해

    1. koreanlearner Post author

      You’re right. I have misunderstood my language partner. This pattern is even listed under the nominal form in my grammar book so the congugated form of 위하 an attachment to the nominal form rather than the 기 belonging with the 위해.
      Thanks for pointing it out, I will edit it 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

