Korean studies and scheduling

This week I haven’t been awefully active online. In fact even my mum who usually tells me to walk away from the screen and read a book or doing something else ‘useful’ (I suppose no matter how old you are, mothers will tell you that) was worried that I was neglecting the blog.

This past week I have mostly been listening to TTMIK podcasts for my Korean studies. I have been working nights for the past week so I’m spending most of my time off work feeling slightly… groggy, for the lack of a better word. In my wake hours when I’m not working, I really do try to study, though.
Also, I try to phrase things in Korean whenever I’m alone based on real-life conversations that I have had earlier in the day.

I was expecting that I would cope much better with night shifts since I’m very much an evening person and I thought I would be able to read much more, but after spending some 9 hours at work and then another hour commuting, by the time I get home, I feel slightly sick; it’s a strange feeling – like my body ought to wake up because the sun is shining and the birds are chirping, and there are so many things I would like to do with family and friends now that people are awake, but on the other hand I’m exhausted. I suppose that’s the difference between being an evening person and a full-blood night person.

I have another week with night shifts and then I will be adjusting back to regular office hours. Wish me luck with the Korean readings!

Have you guys had student jobs/full time jobs where you worked nights sometimes? How did you manage studies and working nights? Any tips for how to make the most of a “day” in such situations?

Leave a Reply

