Pens, notebooks, and study books

I don’t know what it is with language learners and their pens and notebooks. It seems we’re all like that? That feeling of starting a new notebook with a fresh pen is almost meditative. These days I feel like buying pens, but I have to face the fact that I don’t actually need new pens. Today I even went to browse in the uni book shop, but I managed to pull myself together and leave without buying anything…

After arriving at home, I realised I have 5 blue ball point pens of various types to use before I need to buy new ones. Five! And those are just the ones I see on my desk. I probably have a stash in some drawer as well. This year I’m saving all I can, and one important part of my strategy is to absolutely not buy something I don’t actually need. So no pens, note books or highlighters before the ones I have are used. And no new Korean books before I have finished several of those that are already waiting in my shelf.

It was really tempting to buy myself a birthday present from TwoChois, but I decided against it and will shop again when I’m further in my studies and genuinely need new challenges. I have books.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a big shopper and I’m not one to burn cash out of boredom. Perhaps it’s the sense of accomplishment when I get to start a new book, since it means I completed another one before it?

Next time I buy new study materials, I will have completed a lot more!

4 thoughts on “Pens, notebooks, and study books

    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Buying new supplies is almost a science! Is the paper too slippery? Does it soak up ink like a sponge soaks up water? Does the ink dry fast enough or will it smudge when you turn a page? Will the pen live up to odd requirements in exams in terms of colour and type? So much to think of! 😉

      Reply
  1. Chantelle

    I am or rather I was terrible about buying new supplies that I don’t need. I’m making it my mission to complete (some) of the Korean books that I have before I buy anymore.

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      So I’m not the only one who already have many books and pens to go through. I think I should be able to get through all of 2014 and maybe a bit more with the pens I have already bought. As for learning material I should be set for a looong time now. I’m in the process of adding my books to a progress list in the top menu so I (and all of you as well) can keep track of how far I am in my studies. I need to work a lot before buying more books can be justified.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

