Reading

It’s been a while since my last post. I’m sorry about that… As usual, I’ve been working quite a bit, but this week I have finally had some time off, so I decided to work on my Korean reading. Not feeling up for the university books this week, I decided to read a bit of Harry Potter (don’t let the picture above fool you, I cheated and started with chapter 2 after browsing through chapter 1).

Feeling studious, I decided to make flash cards. How to realise how many words you don’t know: make flashcards. The pile you see in the flashcard ring are only for three pages… Three!!!

I look forward to being able to read and just look up the occasional word. The day when I don’t have to look up words such as 중얼거리다 (to grumble), 초록 (grassy-green), and 가느다랗다 (to be very slender).

17 thoughts on “Reading

  1. darkfire382

    Woah, this is pretty much me when starting almost any novel in another language. LOTS of new words, haha. I hope you’re enjoying reading and don’t feel hindered by all the words you don’t know. That’s actually something that scared me away from trying to read novels in Japanese and Korean. I didn’t wanna look up lots of stuff as I read or feel like I knew nothing. However, I now know I need to read regardless because I’ll never feel “ready”; just gotta dive in once I’m itching to do it.

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      You’re right. Reading novels is one of the things where maybe you become ready for it once you’re half-way through it so it’s a problem if you never start. However, I think there is a point where the book becomes accessible because you have enough grammatical understanding to understand the frame of the sentences and then you can add the words as you go along. If you struggle with both words and grammar, it’s like trying to solve a big jigsaw puzzle where you keep forgetting where you put half of the pieces.

      Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      So true! I have the first three books in Danish, all of them in English, no 1+2+3+7 or something like that in French, and the first one in Korean. Right now all of them except for the Korean one are in storage, but when I had my own flat people would notice that I had an entire shelf dedicated to Harry Potter in various languages hehehe.

      Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Hehehe I still have a loooooooong way to go. It’s funny when you find old decks of flashcards and think “wow, but they are so easy!”. You only notice these things in hindsight 🙂 I hope you enjoy reading!

      Reply
      1. underworld9202

        Haha true! I’m reading a simplified Ernest Hemingway book and it’s going well so far… the rollercoaster of breezing through one page then tripping over the next is actually quite addictive :S

  2. Pingback: Korean Flashcards | My Wonder Boy

    1. koreanlearner Post author

      대박 🙂 it seems we can make a Korean-Harry-Potter movement 🙂 I don’t dare write in my “books-books”. My Sogang books I will write in for sure, but I don’t have the heart to write in my regular books. Chapter two gets a lot better (I always find that introductions are a lot more difficult) so keep on reading!

      Reply
      1. AdamO

        I’m the opposite – I’m fine with writing in Korean book-books, but I can’t bring myself to write in textbooks. I figure at some point I’ll move past the level of any given textbook, and might want to give it to someone else, and I don’t want to give someone a book I’ve scribbled all over! On the other hand, I’m looking forward to reading the Harry Potter books again in a few years and seeing how much my vocabulary has improved – I’ll probably never give them away!

        Introductions are definitely the hardest bit. There’s so much descriptive scene-setting language, with loads of adjectives and, with the way JK Rowling writes, so many similies too. Plus, with Dumbledore and McGonagall talking, the language used is probably more intellectual, to give you a sense of their characters. I guess once it’s just Harry et al, it will be simpler!

Leave a Reply

