Reading progress: Harry Potter

I’m slowly progressing in Harry Potter. I try to read a few pages every day, but I look forward to reaching the point where I don’t have to rely as much on my dictionary. At this pace I won’t be done before Christmas!… 2015… Oh well, I remember when I read the first Harry Potter book in English back in the days. Back then I also had to look up a lot of words in the beginning, but eventually it worked out just fine.

My second language partner (from spring 2013) is very proud that I’ve made it to reading it in Korean without taking formal classes to get there. So with that in mind I will keep on reading.

Did you spend this Sunday reading as well? 🙂

11 thoughts on “Reading progress: Harry Potter

    1. koreanlearner Post author

      I found my language partners at university. My school has a “Language Partern Program” where you fill in a form with the languages you speak, and which one(s) you want to learn, and then they will match two native speakers who want to learn/improve each other’s languages. As for books, check out the category “book reviews” to the right. There you will find a review of e.g. the Sogang books, that I have written and some links to other learners’s reviews too. However, I would also recommend that you check out Talk To Me in Korean’s level 1. It’s free, it’s very easy to follow, and you will feel like you progress fairly quickly. Oh and a tip: since you know 한글, try to avoid romanisations. 한글 will help you get a feel for the pronunciation whereas romanisations are rarely accurate, and will only give a false sense of security.

      Reply
      1. mywonderboy

        Yes I have been repeating the TTMIK in my car while driving 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations. It’s really true about the romanisation:( But I read 한글so slooooooowly I don’t have the confidence to read it well yet 😦

  1. AdamO

    I was going to spend Sunday reading, but then I realized that I left my copy of the book at work, so I had to just do some grammar study instead. I have a business trip to Seoul this week, though, so I’ll get some reading done there for sure!

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Well, at least you studied something else instead 🙂 That sounds great! At least you should have some time on the plane. Wow, that sounds like a great opportunity. Have you been there before?

      Reply
      1. AdamO

        I actually live in Korea, in Changwon, on the south coast – I moved to Korea 3 years ago for my job – so I’m getting a bus! I’ve been to Seoul five or six times – it’s 5 hours drive from here, so I don’t go there often.

  2. Dusk

    So far I’m only a page through my Harry Potter book! Partly because my internet has been really slow so looking up a word can take ages ㅠㅠ

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Sorry about the late reply! I love Harry Potter as well 🙂 I remember reading and re-reading them as a child. It’s funny how you imagine how some of the characters and places look like, and they stay with you over a decade later when you read the books again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

