Sunday Status

This week I have actually been doing a lot related to Korean. To the point where I have even been dreaming about Korean.

Writing:
Essay writing: I wrote an essay this week! It’s been such a long time since I last wrote something, but it’s not as bad as I feared it would be.
Texting: I’ve been texting with my LP and a few others in Korean.

Grammar:
That sort of goes with writing; you need to find an appropriate grammatical structure to say what you really want to say. However, I need to develop my grammar more.

Speaking:
I have also been speaking a little and reading the essay out loud with my language partner. I think my pronunciation isn’t too bad, but I really need to focus and listen very carefully to be able to understand what I’m asked. Then there is of course the issue of being able to formulate a somewhat coherent reply on the spot.
In London I bought some small word cards, and I find them super useful.

Dimensions: 6.8 cm x 3 cm

Dimensions: 6.8 cm x 3 cm

Word cards 2

The key ring makes revision very convenient

I bought three sets of each £1 in a Japanese book store, and whenever I learn a new word in language exchange, I write it down. Three sets should keep me going for a while, but it’s so much cheaper and easier than creating my own by cutting blank business cards into several word cards. I try to make a point of reviewing the new vocabulary on the way home from my language exchange while on the train and again in the evening.

I think practicing speaking with more people will help me get used to differences in pronunciation and enunciation, though…

Listening:
I’ve watched the one episode of 오만과 편견 that aired this week (with subtitles since I didn’t catch the raw one in time). Sadly the other episode was preempted due to a football match. I try to watch the episodes both raw and with subtitles, because not having subtitles forces me to focus more on what’s said and on any written things that the camera focuses on, while the subtitles allow me to fill in the blanks.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Status

Leave a Reply

