Happy New Year!

Happy New Year everybody! I hope you will have a splendid 2015. 2014 has been a quite stressful year, but it’s also been a good year. The past few weeks have been tough, but there should be hope it will all end well.

This has been the most chaotic Christmas and New Year to date in our family. When my mum told my brother over the phone that she had bought a Christmas tree and we were waiting for delivery, it went like this:
My mum: it was quite dark, but the silhouette looked rather nice.
My brother: If only you knew how many have said that throughout the ages.
My mum: …

That exchange pretty much characterised our Christmas this year.

Looking back on my Korean journey, I’ve done one big thing related to Korean language every year since I started studying Korean in 2012. In 2013 I sat my first TOPIK exam, and 2014 was the year in which I participated in a Korean speaking competition – slightly unwillingly, but as you know it ended surprisingly well.

2015 is almost here so it makes sense to think about some of the things I would like to work on next year. My next “big project” will definitely be the intermediate TOPIK.

Korean:
1) Study until and including level 9 of TTMIK grammar lessons.
2) Be able to hold out for at least five minutes in conversation before going into “네…” mode.
3) Pass TOPIK level 3

Japanese:
The first that comes to mind is to not accidently read katakana that look confusingly similar to 한글 out in Korean during Japanese class. E.g. 그 vs. コ.

I still need to figure out actual goals for Japanese. Until now I’ve just gone with the flow in class.

Happy New Year! 새해 복 많이 받으세요!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. sweetangel

    Happy new year. Wish you all the best with your language journey. I plan to study Japanese this year. I start with Minna no Nihongo. I don’t know if I can balance my life with so many languages.

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Thank you 🙂 good luck with Japanese as well! it seems that many Korean learners eventually take on Japanese as well hehe. I’ve heard of those books, but I’ve never actually seen them. I use the kana version of Japanese for Busy People series. These days I feel genuinely overwhelmed by my schedule so I recognise your thoughts about it 🙂 let us know how you like the books at some point 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

