Goals for the new semester

A month has passed since I started my new job and next week I will start classes again. I do enjoy my work, but I’d be lying if I claimed to not having a pretty steep learning curve ahead of me. There are two yearly performance reviews for the people in my type of position, and the first one will be in just about two weeks!

While I haven’t had the mental presence to read a lot in Korean, I have been texting a lot in Korean over the past month, and I have been watching some dramas both with and without subtitles. Also I have tried to make a habit of listening to 세상을 바꾸는 시간, which was recommended to me by Sofie, whenever I can. Most of the speakers speak quite clearly since it’s a setting similar to TED talks so even if you don’t understand everything, it is at least a good starting point for listening to Korean.

As for Japanese, my classes start on the 9th so I have started revising in order to be as up to speed as I can when we start. The entire last semester I was struggling in the weekly kanji tests and I suspect that my teacher found my performance genuinely pitiful sometimes.

I have condensed my language goals for the semester to three points:
1) Finish Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone in Korean.
2) Be able to hold a 15 min conversation exclusively in Korean about the most common intermediate topics. 15 min is quite a while when you’re not used to it.
3) Stay up to speed on kanji and Japanese grammar for my weekly classes.

I could add more things concerning number of grammar points per week and the like, but I doubt that would make it more attainable considering what my schedule looks like.

4 thoughts on “Goals for the new semester

  1. Someday Korean

    Ooh – Japanese. I’m hoping to take Japanese classes starting next fall, if it works out with my school schedule. I could self-study, but…well, I don’t really have time. Also I’m way too lazy to self-study two languages at once. What level of Japanese class are you in?

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Yeah, self-studying several languages can become too much of a good thing when you have other things as well.
      I’m starting level 3 in my school, but basically that just means that this will be the third semester that my class exists. We finished Japanese for Busy People 1 (kana version) just before the holidays so we will start the second book (out of three I think) this semester and keep going in a Minna no nihongo series kanji book. But I really really need to go over some things again.

      Reply
  2. maggira19

    Hi, I’m new to blogging (and to Korean learning) and I was wondering if you could explain what TOPIK does and why so many korean language studiers are trying to take it? I’m aware it’s a proficiency test, but what exactly does it do? Also I know it’s been awhile since this was posted, but I hope you are having a nice semester! Thanks ✿

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Hi and welcome to blogging and Korean! 🙂 I think most people take it just to have a sense of how far they have come. It’s a nicely standardised way to assess oneself. Especially when self-studying, it can be difficult to see what is going well and what needs working on and then passing an exam is a very concrete goal to strive towards 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

