Speaking practice

Yesterday I had a 45 min lesson which was great, but incredibly tiring (by 7 PM I was basically ready to just go to bed). At the end of the lesson she suddenly said that she was going to ask some questions to see if I remembered some words and expressions from last time. It makes so much sense to follow up, but I still had a brief moment of fear that I would have forgotten everything. It went well enough, though, and we will continue our endeavours next week.

My short time on Italki has got me wondering what it is that makes me feel comfortable enough to speak – and obviously make plenty of mistakes – with some people, but clam up when around others (I can think of a few people who have this effect on me).

It’s probably a less fortunate combination of perfectionism and a sense of embarrassment which I’m now slowly forcing myself to let go of since it’s downright necessary for me to improve at this stage. And of course these are paid language lessons so the very concept itself entails that one of us is learning the language.

While I couldn’t afford putting in 30-40 USD, which is the hourly rate of many professional teachers, several times per week, the hourly rate of an informal tutor adds up to about the same as a large cappuccino and a cake in a cafe in Copenhagen. That allows for more regular classes, which is exactly what I need right now, and so far I have been very happy with the informal tutoring.

So far I’ve only had 6 lessons so it’s obviously too early to notice any major differences. I wonder when my Korean friends will begin to notice any improvements in my level when we write together… Time will show.

2 thoughts on “Speaking practice

  1. italki

    We’ve found that improvement often comes from frequent practice, rather than intense lessons. It’s great to see you’re putting in the work. It will pay off. 화이팅!

    Reply
    1. koreanlearner Post author

      Thank you for commenting and for the encouragement!!! 🙂 All that speaking practice sure is a lot of fun, but also a bit draining since I’m not used to thinking in Korean for full 45 min. Every time it seems a tiiny bit easier, though. I look forward to the day where 45 min will be easy-peasy. 화이팅!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

