Vocabulary about occupation

Since of of my three Italki tutors had to stop teaching for a little while for personal reasons, I went to look for another one so I don’t end up “wearing out” the  first two. This time I opted for a professional teacher.

In spite of some Skype connection issues we did a lot and she showed me different material of different levels of difficulty, had me read a bit aloud and answer questions.

At the end of the class she sent me some sheets with useful vocabulary to describe educational background and occupation. Reading through the latter I noticed one thing: even occupations of the more shady variety are listed.

Right after assemblyman (국회의원), minister (장관), and politician (정치가), you find gangster (깡패), organised gangster (조폭) – not to confuse with the regular ones obviously – and thief (도둑).

It might be unintentional, but there is some humour in that order!

Leave a Reply

